Personal injury law can often be complex, and Utah bus accident claims are no different. At Swenson & Shelley Injury Attorneys, our St. George injury attorneys offer a free consultation so that you can get a handle on your case. We never let our clients begin the claims process blindly. Contact our office today for a free, confidential case evaluation.
Utah Bus Accident Claims | Who Is Liable?
If you have been injured by a bus in the state of Utah, there are some differences that are important that our clients need to be aware of. First, buses are typically much larger than the objects or the vehicles that they strike, and so the forces are different. You need to understand what those forces are and how that impacts the type of injuries that you sustain and how severe those injuries are.
Second, you’re typically dealing with a corporate policy, which typically carry higher insurance limits. There usually is a greater amount of insurance to cover the injuries you sustain. A third issue is, lots of times, buses are owned by either states or cities, or municipalities or school districts. If the bus that injured you is owned by a governmental agency, there are different rules that apply. You have a shorter amount of time to bring a claim. There are certain steps you have to take, and if you fail to take any of those steps, you could lose your right to make a claim.
Get Our FREE Bus Accident Guide
Utah Bus Accident Claims | Compensation
Utah follows shared fault rules, which affects how much compensation you may be eligible for. Here is how the rule works: If you are found to be 50% or more at fault for the cause of the accident, you will be completely barred from compensation altogether. If you are found to be less than 50% at fault, then your compensation will be reduced. If you share no fault in causing the accident (you were a passenger sitting on the bus when it collided with a car) then you would get full compensation.
To give you an example of how the reduction of compensation works, let’s say you were deemed 10% to blame for the accident for whatever reason. Now, let’s say your compensation reward is $10,000. Because you shared fault under 50%, you have to have a reduction in your compensation. You would take 10% away from that $10,000 reward which would give you $9,000. Our Utah bus accident lawyers work hard to get you the fullest and fairest amount of compensation possible.
Contact Our Office for a Free Consultation
When you are involved in a bus accident, it can turn your life upside down. We want to help make your life a lot easier after this accident. We will get you the compensation you deserve. Please call our Utah bus accident lawyers today to get a free initial consultation.